VISUAL WORLDS – WORLD VIEWS

Exhibition

The touring exhibition was planned in collaboration with the LWL-Museumsamt and has been seen in various places in Westphalia since April 2017. Its title is “Visual Worlds – World Views” (Bildwelten – Weltbilder). Romanesque Wall Painting in Westphalia seen in a New Light“.

The exhibition presents texts, plans, photos and exhibits on Romanesque wall paintings in Westphalia. The results of the research project “Visual Worlds – World Views“ (Bildwelten – Weltbilder) are incorporated in the exhibition in a comprehensible and visually attractive form. Numerous high-resolution photos enable exciting new views of detail in the paintings that are often far removed from the eye of the observer due to their monumentality and their location.

The exhibition is divided into eight topical sections:

Presentation of the churches involved in the survey – Historical background – Techniques and colours – Topics and motifs – The style – Sources and inscriptions – Wall paintings in their context – Their conservation history.

A booklet has been produced to accompany the exhibition:

Bildwelten-Weltbilder. Romanische Wandmalerei Westfalens in neuem Licht.

Publ.: LWL-Denkmalpflege, Landschafts- und Baukultur in Westfalen.
Münster 2017.

92 pages, 101 coloured illustrations.

ISBN 978-3-927204-88-1.

The booklet costs 5 euros and can be purchased during the period of the exhibition at each location of the exhibition, from the LWL-Museumsamt für Westfalen in Münster via the order form or in bookshops.



Photos: LWL/Dülberg.


Exhibition dates

Münster, LWL-Landeshaus, Bürgerhalle
4.4.2017-20.4.2017

Bochum, Bochumer Zentrum für Stadtgeschichte (Bochum Local History Centre)
4.5.2017-25.6.2017

Brakel, Stadtmuseum (Local History Museum)
2.7.2017-27.8.2017

Werl, Forum der Völker (Ethnology Forum)
8.9.2017-29.10.2017

Attendorn, Südsauerlandmuseum (South Sauerland Museum)
5.11.2017-7.1.2018

Schmallenberg-Holthausen, Schieferbergbau- und Heimatmuseum (Slate-mining and Local History Museum)
21.1.2018-11.3.2018

Warstein, Haus Kupferhammer
18.3.2018-13.5.2018

Paderborn, Stadtmuseum (Local History Museum)
20.5.2018-15.7.2018


Admission
The regular admission prices of each museum apply.

BILDWELTEN - WELTBILDER

Ausstellung

Die Wanderausstellung ist in Zusammenarbeit mit dem LWL-Museumsamt entstanden und seit April 2017 an verschiedenen Orten in Westfalen zu sehen. Sie trägt den Titel „Bildwelten – Weltbilder. Romanische Wandmalerei Westfalens in neuem Licht“.

Es werden Texte, Pläne, Fotos und Exponate zur romanischen Wandmalerei in Westfalen präsentiert. Die Ergebnisse des Forschungsprojektes „Bildwelten – Weltbilder“ fließen in verständlicher und visuell ansprechend aufbereiteter Form in die Ausstellung ein. Zahlreiche hochauflösende Fotos ermöglichen spannende neue Detailansichten der Malereien, die vor Ort aufgrund ihrer Monumentalität und der räumlichen Gegebenheiten dem Betrachter oft weit entrückt sind.

Die Ausstellung gliedert sich in acht Themenbereiche:

Vorstellung der untersuchten Kirchen – Die Geschichte – Die Technik und die Farben – Die Themen und Motive – Der Stil – Die Quellen und Inschriften – Wandmalerei im Kontext – Die Restaurierungsgeschichte.

Zur Ausstellung ist ein Begleitheft erschienen:

Bildwelten-Weltbilder. Romanische Wandmalerei Westfalens in neuem Licht.

Hg.: LWL-Denkmalpflege, Landschafts- und Baukultur in Westfalen.
Münster 2017.
92 Seiten, 101 Farbabbildungen.
ISBN 978-3-927204-88-1.

Die Broschüre kostet 5 Euro und ist während der Laufzeit der Ausstellung am jeweiligen Ausstellungsort, beim LWL-Museumsamt für Westfalen in Münster über das Bestellformular oder im Buchhandel zu erwerben.



Fotos: LWL/Dülberg.


Ausstellungstermine

Münster, LWL-Landeshaus, Bürgerhalle
4.4.2017-20.4.2017

Bochum, Bochumer Zentrum für Stadtgeschichte
4.5.2017-25.6.2017

Brakel, Stadtmuseum
2.7.2017-27.8.2017

Werl, Forum der Völker
8.9.2017-29.10.2017

Attendorn, Südsauerlandmuseum
5.11.2017-7.1.2018

Schmallenberg-Holthausen, Schieferbergbau- und Heimatmuseum
21.1.2018-11.3.2018

Warstein, Haus Kupferhammer
18.3.2018-13.5.2018

Paderborn, Stadtmuseum
20.5.2018-15.7.2018


Eintritt
Es gilt der reguläre Eintrittspreis der jeweiligen Museen.