Opening

Thursday, 8 November, 6 pm
Admission free

MESH, Performance Part I
with Matthias Markstein and Isaac Spencer

Welcome with Matthias Löb (LWL-Director)

Talk "bauhaus 100 im westen"
with Milena Karabaic (Head of the Culture Department LVR) and Dr. Barbara Rüschoff-Parzinger (Head of the Culture Department LWL)

Talk with the State of North Rhine-Westphalia and other sponsors
Presentation: Dr. Hermann Arnhold, Director LWL-Museum für Kunst und Kultur

MESH, Performance Part II
with Matthias Markstein and Isaac Spencer

Introduction in the exhibition
Dr. Tanja Pirsig Marshall and Kristin Bartels (curators)

Opening with Dr. Hermann Arnhold (Director LWL-Museum für Kunst und Kultur)

Opening Party with DJ Klara Sound

9 November 2018 – 10 March 2019

Bauhaus and America. Experiments in Light and Movement

With the exhibition “Bauhaus and America. Experiments in Light and Movement” the LWL-Museum für Kunst und Kultur transcends borders. It intentionally focuses on artists who, after the Bauhaus was closed in 1933, emigrated to America to carry forward their ideas and experiments there. Starting with the Bauhaus stage as an interdisciplinary laboratory for experiments in light and movement, the diverse controversies in this field are examined for the first time. Ranging from light and kinetic art to experimental film and dance and performance art, this epoch-spanning exhibition shows the far-reaching influence of these interactions. As early as in the 1950s the ideas were having a reverse influence from America on Europe and are still reflected in contemporary art today. That is why the exhibition not only concentrates on the positions of the Bauhaus and its American successor institutions, but spans developments right up to the present.

Loans from major international museums, such as the J. Paul Getty Museum in Los Angeles, the Centre Pompidou in Paris, the Tate in London and many others, offer an insight into the experimental work of artists as different as Josef Albers, Barbara Morgan, John Cage, Lucinda Childs, László Moholy-Nagy, Robert Rauschenberg, Oskar Schlemmer, Julian Stanczak and James Turrell as well as Marcel Dzama, Barbara Kasten and Daria Martin.

Light spaces

One highlight of the exhibition is the display of a 2006 replica of the famous “Licht-Raum-Modulator” of László Moholy-Nagy and of the 1923 apparatus “Farbenlichtspiele” of Ludwig Hirschfeld-Mack, which, for the first time in many years, can be seen together in Germany again. With the reactivation of these light play devices, the museum enables a unique light-space experience. Moholy-Nagy's "Licht-Raum-Modulator" can be seen in action every day at 11 AM and 4 PM for 15 minutes.

The loans were made possible through the generous support of the foundation kunst³, the museum’s donors, and the Friends of the Museum für Kunst und Kultur, Inc.

Dance performance “MESH”

The impact of the Bauhaus stage on modern dance is also taken into account: The choreographers Matthias Markstein and Isaac Spencer, together with stage designer Nora Maria Bräuer, have created a performance that will be staged at the museum as part of the exhibition on eight separate occasions.

9-10 November 2018, each 5–6 PM
29-30 December 2018, each 5–6 PM
2-3 February 2019, each 4–5 PM
9-10 March 2019, each 4–5 PM

TanzTheaterMünster “Unknown Territories”

The museum cooperates on a supra-institutional level with TanzTheaterMünster. Under the direction of the choreographer Hans Henning Paar, the theater has developed the multidisciplinary evening „Unknown Territories,“ which brings the ideas of the Bauhaus into the present day and celebrates its premiere on 19 October 2018. For more information go to www.theater-muenster.com

Catalogue

An exhibition catalogue (in German or English) features texts by Hermann Arnhold, Kristin Bartels, Torsten Blume, Ulrike Gärtner, Andreas Hapkemeyer, Julie Jones, Gail Kirkpatrick, Marijke Lukowicz, Márton Orosz, Tanja Pirsig-Marshall, Jeannette Redensek, Eline Van Dijk published by Kerber Verlag, Bielefeld.

9.11.18–10.3.19

Bauhaus und Amerika. Experimente in Licht und Bewegung

Mit der Ausstellung „Bauhaus und Amerika. Experimente in Licht und Bewegung“ überschreitet das LWL-Museum für Kunst und Kultur Grenzen. Bewusst richtet es den Blick auf Künstlerinnen und Künstler, die nach der Schließung des Bauhauses 1933 nach Amerika emigrierten, um dort ihre Ideen und Experimente fortzuführen. Ausgehend von der Bauhausbühne als interdisziplinäres Laboratorium für Licht- und Bewegungsexperimente werden erstmals die vielfältigen Auseinandersetzungen auf diesem Feld untersucht. Von Licht- und kinetischer Kunst über den Experimentalfilm bis hin zu Tanz- und Performancekunst zeigt die epochenübergreifende Ausstellung den weitreichenden Einfluss dieser Interaktionen. Bereits in den 1950er Jahren wirkten die Ideen von Amerika auf Europa zurück und finden noch heute in der zeitgenössischen Kunst ihren Widerhall. Die Ausstellung konzentriert sich deshalb nicht nur auf Positionen des Bauhauses und seiner amerikanischen Nachfolgeinstitutionen, sondern schlägt den Bogen bis in die Gegenwart.

Leihgaben aus bedeutenden, internationalen Museen, wie dem J. Paul Getty Museum in Los Angeles, dem Centre Pompidou in Paris, der Tate in London und vielen mehr, ermöglichen einen Einblick in das experimentelle Schaffen so unterschiedlicher Künstlerinnen und Künstler wie Josef Albers, Barbara Morgan, John Cage, Lucinda Childs, László Moholy-Nagy, Robert Rauschenberg, Oskar Schlemmer, Xanti Schawinsky, Julian Stanczak und James Turrell sowie Marcel Dzama, Barbara Kasten und Daria Martin.

Lichträume

Ein Highlight der Ausstellung ist die Gegenüberstellung des berühmten „Licht-Raum-Modulators“ von László Moholy-Nagy in einer Nachbildung von 2006 mit der Apparatur für die „Farbenlichtspiele“ von Ludwig Hirschfeld-Mack von 1923, die seit langer Zeit wieder zusammen in Deutschland zu sehen sein werden. Das LWL-Museum für Kunst und Kultur reaktiviert diese Lichtspielapparaturen und ermöglicht damit eine einmalige Licht-Raum-Erfahrung. Täglich um 11 sowie um 16 Uhr besteht die Möglichkeit den „Licht-Raum-Modulator“ für 15 Minuten in Aktion zu erleben.

Die Leihgaben wurden mit großzügiger Unterstützung der Stiftung kunst³, dem Stifterkreis des Museums, und den Freunden des Museums für Kunst und Kultur e.V. ermöglicht.

Tanzperformance „MESH“

Die Auswirkungen der Bauhausbühne auf den modernen Tanz veranschaulichen die Choreografen Matthias Markstein und Isaac Spencer, die zusammen mit der Bühnenbildnerin Nora Maria Bräuer die Tanzperformance „MESH“ erarbeitet haben.

9./10. November 2018, jeweils 17–18 Uhr
29./30. Dezember 2018, jeweils 17–18 Uhr
2./3. Februar 2019, jeweils 16–17 Uhr
9./10. März 2019, 16–17 Uhr

TanzTheaterMünster „Unknown Territories“

Das Museum kooperiert institutionsübergreifend mit dem TanzTheaterMünster. Unter der Leitung des Choreografen Hans Henning Paar entwickelt das Theater den spartenübergreifenden Abend „Unknown Territories“, der die Ideen des Bauhauses in die Gegenwart überführt. Weitere Informationen unter www.theater-muenster.com

Führungen

Öffentliche geführte Rundgänge durch die Ausstellung finden jeden Samstag und Sonntag, jeweils 14 bis 15 Uhr statt.

Schulprogramm

Die Angebote für Schulklassen können Sie hier als PDF herunterladen.

Katalog

Zur Ausstellung erscheint ein Katalog (deutsch oder englisch) für 27 Euro mit Texten von Hermann Arnhold, Kristin Bartels, Torsten Blume, Ulrike Gärtner, Andreas Hapkemeyer, Julie Jones, Gail Kirkpatrick, Marijke Lukowicz, Márton Orosz, Tanja Pirsig-Marshall, Jeannette Redensek, Eline Van Dijk im Kerber Verlag, Bielefeld.