TAKE CARE

Strategies towards responsible alcohol consumption for adolescents in Europe


Europe has the highest alcohol consumption per capita in the world. According to a study by the World Health Organisation (WHO), on average, each European drinks 9.24 litres of pure alcohol ­every year; more than 20 % of all adults are getting drunk more or less regularly.

When focusing on young adults, this problem becomes more s­evere: According to a recent European school survey on alcohol and other drugs (ESPAD 2012), adolescents in Europe have their first alcoholic beverage on average approximately at the age of 13 - and 12 % of the interviewees also reported having their first alcoholic intoxication at this age. This means that adolescents, who get contact with alcohol, try on risky consumption patterns quite fast.

The European project of TAKE CARE developed new strategies in order to encourage a responsible handling of alcohol by adolescents - and for this the project chose the demanding multilevel approach, which incorporates the parents, key persons and employees in retail, in addition to the adolescents For most project partners addressing four different target groups and still pursuing one goal, has been a completely new experience. The project is designed according to the social environment of adolescents.

The main goals of TAKE CARE:

  • Compliance with legislation regarding the protection of the youth.
  • Motivating young people for a responsible drinking behaviour.

The goals for the specific target groups are:

  • Training the risk competence of the adolescents.
  • Strengthening the educational skills of the parents through a reflected attitude towards the alcohol consumption of their children.
  • Supporting the key persons, so that they are capable of talking about alcohol consumption and initiating constructive talks with the adolescents.
  • Informing and training retailers, caterers and owners of kiosks, so that they become aware of the problem and can act consequently.

The method of the multilevel approach had already been tested
and successfully evaluated between 2004 and 2007 as part of the pilot project SeM (Secondary prevention in a Multilevel approach), which has been developed by the LWL Coordination Office for Drug-related Issues and ran in cooperation with the city of Münster.

More information on this project you will find here.

TAKE CARE

Strategien für einen verantwortungsbewussten Alkoholkonsum bei Jugendlichen in Europa


Alkoholkonsum von Jugendlichen ist ein europäisches Thema. Nach einer Studie der Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO) ist Europa weltweit die Region mit dem höchsten Alkoholverbrauch: Durchschnittlich konsumiert jeder Europäer pro Jahr 9,24 Liter reinen Alkohol; mehr als 20 Pro­zent der Erwachsenen betrinken sich mehr oder weniger regel­mäßig.

Noch gravierender ist das Problem bei den jungen Europäerinnen und Europäern. Jugendliche in Europa trinken ihr erstes alkoholisches Getränk durchschnittlich mit 13 Jahren, ergab die aktuelle europäische Schülerstudie zu Alkohol und anderen Drogen (ESPAD 2012). Zwölf Prozent der Befragten gaben an, in diesem Alter auch ihren ersten Rausch erlebt zu haben. Jugendliche,die mit Alkohol in Berührung kommen, testen also sehr schnell riskante Konsummuster an.

Das europäische Projekt TAKE CARE ging neue Wege. Es hat Strategien entwickelt, um einen verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit Alkohol zu fördern. Gewählt wurde ein anspruchsvoller Mehr­ebenenansatz, der neben den Jugendlichen auch die Eltern, Schlüsselpersonen im sozialen Umfeld sowie die Beschäf­tigten im Einzelhandel einbezieht. Für die meisten Projektpartner war es neu, sich an vier verschiedene Zielgruppen zu wenden und dabei ein Ziel zu verfolgen. Bezogen war das Projekt auf den Sozialraum der Jugendlichen.

Die grundsätzlichen Ziele von TAKE CARE waren:

  • Einhaltung der Regelungen zum Jugendschutz
  • Junge Menschen zu einem verantwortungsbewussten Trinkverhalten zu motivieren.

Bezogen auf die spezifischen Zielgruppen lauteten die Ziele:

  • Die Risikokompetenz der Jugendlichen schulen.
  • Durch eine reflektierte Haltung gegenüber dem Alkoholkonsum ihrer Kinder die Eltern in ihrer Erziehungskompetenz stärken.
  • Schlüsselpersonen unterstützen, damit sie Alkoholkonsum thematisieren und konstruktive Gespräche mit Jugend­lichen führen.
  • Einzelhändler, Gastronomen und Kioskbesitzer informieren und schulen, damit sie das Problem erkennen und dementsprechend konsequent handeln.

Erprobt und erfolgreich evaluiert wurde die Methode des Mehr­ebenenansatzes bereits zwischen 2004 und 2007 im Rahmen des von der LWL-Koordinationsstelle Sucht entwickelten und in Ko­operation mit der Stadt Münster durchgeführten Modellprojekts SeM (Sekundäre Suchtprävention im Mehrebenenansatz). 

Mehr Informationen dazu finden Sie hier.